New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

2 Pages<12
criticol  
Posted : Monday, 14 March 2011 2:46:34 PM(UTC)
criticol

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 48 post(s)
HI Dettol.

Read your PMs, (Private Messages)

Cheers Colin.
gjj109  
Posted : Monday, 14 March 2011 3:00:23 PM(UTC)
gjj109

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Man

Was thanked: 194 time(s) in 115 post(s)
Hi Dettol,

If you don't get a better offer, I'd be happy to meet up for a scratch in one of the local creeks. I don't have the expertise of Colin or JW but I've been panning for a few years and have learnt some of the things not to do.

Gary
starflash  
Posted : Monday, 14 March 2011 3:11:04 PM(UTC)
starflash

Man

Was thanked: 38 time(s) in 30 post(s)
be careful this time of year in the coro, dont stray to much from the beaten track and creeks as its gettin near harvest time, and there are a many anxious locals

Edited by user Monday, 14 March 2011 3:11:36 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

kiwijw  
Posted : Tuesday, 15 March 2011 1:27:43 AM(UTC)
kiwijw

Was thanked: 658 time(s) in 324 post(s)

Edited by user Saturday, 9 July 2011 3:10:53 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

dettol  
Posted : Tuesday, 15 March 2011 12:40:20 PM(UTC)
dettol

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
kiwijw wrote:
Hi there, Just about any creek in the Coromandel in gold areas will give you colours of gold. Nothing is a sure bet though. Target bedrock or a spot where the bed rock isnt too deep. Luck has a lot to do with it when chasing alluvial gold in the Coromandel.

Happy hunting

JW :)

Thx for the info JW! It's kind of reassuring to know there's a chance of finding something, even if only specs, in most creeks and streams in the old gold fields of the Coromandel.

criticol wrote:
HI Dettol.