New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

gerter  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 12:30:31 PM(UTC)
gerter

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi Guys newbie here!

I live in Dunedin and have a holiday house in Naseby, Central Otago.

After going there this Labor weekend I'm really keen to prospect some gold.

Just wondering if anyone has had any luck around the Naseby area, or where I should be going in the surrounding area (My guess is St Bathans?).

Is following the Goldfields Heritage Trail the best bet?

Thanks in advance,

Gerter

gjj109  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 3:54:38 PM(UTC)
gjj109

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Man

Was thanked: 194 time(s) in 115 post(s)
What equipment do you have? A pan, sluicebox, detector etc. If nothing, what do you intend to obtain?
gerter  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 4:11:09 PM(UTC)
gerter

New Zealand

I have no equipment but I am currently looking around for an entry level detector to get me started, along with a pan and essentials like a pick etc.

Do you have any recommendations for a detector? I don't have a whole lot of money to spend, so best bang for buck :)

Sorry again complete newbie here.

Thanks!
Nz13  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 4:24:06 PM(UTC)
Nz13

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Bang for buck gold bug hands down. Robert from puiaki supplies can sort that :)
chrischch  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 6:08:06 PM(UTC)
chrischch

Was thanked: 105 time(s) in 104 post(s)
I would say start with a pan and/or sluice then if you still interested, spend the money on a gold bug pro or similar.
Fisher Goldbug Pro, Fisher F2, Garrett Propointer.
gerter  
Posted : Tuesday, 28 October 2014 6:17:46 PM(UTC)
gerter

New Zealand