New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

2 Pages12>
kiwipete  
Posted : Thursday, 24 May 2012 1:59:32 AM(UTC)
kiwipete

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi Guys, I had pretty much decided to buy a Gold Bug 2 since gold is my main interest, but having looked into the Minelab X-Terra 705 Gold Pack specs it seems it may offer the best of both worlds with the 2 coils. Bearing in mind I'm a newbie know-nothing I would appreciate any advice/thoughts.
simon  
Posted : Thursday, 24 May 2012 11:17:35 AM(UTC)
simon

Man

Was thanked: 239 time(s) in 150 post(s)
i don't know the x-terra but all i see is gb2's and minelab 4500 / 5000 s when it comes to the serious guys.

the question is these guys are running around with these great detectors so what are you going to use to be able to still find gold?

if everyone is going to the same spots it will be hard to find much if you are up against a good detector and an experienced operator.

i know people have found stuff with the shittiest of detectors but this is often pure luck. the thing is how much are these cheap detectors missing. time is money so there is little point in wasting your time.

i find my gb2 is easy enough to use. it is prob the best at finding the real small stuff. which is what is out there. i know everyone dreams of the big one but they are few and far between.

the good thing with the gb2 also is there are a lot of users around who can show you the ropes.

the gb2 is nice and light too, esp compared to the minelabs.

Lammerlaw  
Posted : Thursday, 24 May 2012 12:21:21 PM(UTC)
Lammerlaw

Was thanked: 579 time(s) in 396 post(s)