New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

HeavyD  
Posted : Wednesday, 12 June 2013 7:36:03 PM(UTC)
HeavyD

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Hi Everyone.

I have recently gotten really interested in gold fossicking, and started learning about some gold collecting techniques. I have been given about 30 litres of concentrate from some equipment getting repaired by a local engineer to have a play with. I only have a gold pan at this point and from what I can tell (bear in mind I’m a rookie) there seems to be a good amount of fine gold in it. My question is how is the best way to process this amount of concentrate? Am I going to have to pan the whole lot? And how much really fine gold can I catch with panning?

Thanks in advance for any info.
kiwikeith  
Posted : Wednesday, 12 June 2013 8:28:00 PM(UTC)
kiwikeith

Medals: Outstanding Contribution: Helped organise get together for Paydirt members and volunteered gold claim for the event (Oct 2013)

Was thanked: 230 time(s) in 154 post(s)
hi heavyd
awhile back I posted a photo of my sluice box setup at home cant find it on the forum or my computer
but what I have is a long sluice box fixed to the wall of my shed I put the garden hose in one end for water flow the box has no riffles but some coarse matting or grass as known in the trade I just trickle the concentrate in the top end and let it work very slowly to do 30lts would take me a couple of hours but still quicker than panning at the end I wash the mat and end up normally with a pan full to pan
make sure the flow is low so as not to flush all the gold through and don't put to much in at once keep and eye on the matt half way down the box if there is colour there you are putting to much through or the water flow is to high
the box is made of wood nothing fancy and is about 1.5m long