New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

kingtnarg  
Posted : Wednesday, 13 November 2013 11:48:30 AM(UTC)
kingtnarg

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Hello,

My Name is Grant, i am new to the forum and me and my dad have just brought a Fisher f4 and a Garret pin pointer pro. We are very interested in finding old coins and relics but are not sure where to look legally in the Waikato/Waipa area. I was at the lake in Cambridge the other day and was told off by a lady walking past saying that she was going to complain about me (im not sure who to). The lake is a public park and i thought that was ok but now i am second guessing myself.

All advice is much appreciated. When i am a seasoned pro at metal detecting i will be passing on some advice!
andy  
Posted : Wednesday, 13 November 2013 12:22:07 PM(UTC)
andy

Australia

Was thanked: 88 time(s) in 72 post(s)
puplic parks are open to all members of public and in most cases you are alowed to detect in them!some people just get their nickers in a not over nothing!pay them no attention coz thats all they want!as long as you leave the area you detect neat and tidy and as close to what it looked like when you arived you shouldnt have to much problems!check out the metal detecting code of ethic in the other section it has some good basic guidlines and advice!cheers!
ATpro
ACE250
GC1010
teknetics Eurotek Pro
Shilo  
Posted : Wednesday, 13 November 2013 3:00:56 PM(UTC)
Shilo

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Was thanked: 285 time(s) in 185 post(s)