New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

overdog  
Posted : Monday, 30 December 2013 5:27:52 PM(UTC)
overdog

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Groups: Registered
Man

Was thanked: 82 time(s) in 68 post(s)
Evening all... Anybody out there have both the 5 inch and 10 inch coils? If so what depth difference if any have you noticed?
I have the 5 inch but I dont think Im getting the depth I should-fresh batteries I get about 3 inches on a .5 gramme flake-edge on I barely get a signal.
Do coils "go off" over time?
simon  
Posted : Tuesday, 31 December 2013 8:49:11 AM(UTC)
simon

Man

Was thanked: 239 time(s) in 150 post(s)
hi overdog,

something doesn't sound quite right there.

i'm not a gb pro expert but luke on here has one which i've seen in action (i've got the GB2 with elliptical coil).

is the .5 gram flake lying flat i presume? if on its side it may be tougher to detect but it should be pretty loud on the flat.

i get a bout 4 inches on the GB2. have got a 18.3 grammer at a way greater depth but 4 inches is what i usually go with. if dirt is deeper i just rake it about level and keep lowering down.

i'm presuming the 5 inch should go deeper than the 10 inch? luke was using the 5inch. i think it was so he could get around the crevices better as the 10 inch is a bit cumbersome on this in the deep bits. the 10 would cover more ground tho.

i'm wondering if you have a problem with your coil on the 5 inch. this seems to be a big problem for these new GB machines. luke had issues with his and i think he got a new one from memory?