New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

gumboot  
Posted : Thursday, 23 June 2011 8:58:56 PM(UTC)
gumboot

Groups: Registered
Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie and any help would be appreciated. I want to make my own sluice box and I can get 1.6mm thick aluminium sheet for a reasonable price, would 1.6mm be thick enough? I noticed that most sluice boxes from the shops/trademe etc are 2mm thick. For the riffles I'm thinking of using 25mm x 25mm x 2mm angled (L) aluminium for a 'Hungarian style' riffles, would that be OK?

Any help or advice would be welcome. On a side note, come on the mighty All Blacks

GO THE MIGHTY ALL BLACKS
Lammerlaw  
Posted : Friday, 24 June 2011 4:45:43 AM(UTC)
Lammerlaw

Was thanked: 579 time(s) in 396 post(s)
I guess it doesnt really matter - I have been looking for gold for years and never buy from commerical outlets - a bit like hunting and fishing - if they wear all the mod cons and fancy crap then the chances are they are new at the game...or is it that I was brought up in the post war era when we wore what we had and what was suitable and we made do? What ever the answer is I have had a great deal of success with everyone elses caste offs and my own gear which I made or had made - my current sluice box always amazes me as it traps gold just dandy and it would be too narrow if I was designing one but it was made with what I got free and still works perfectly. It is too narrow because it is made from a mainframe computer housing! A freebie - there for the taking.