New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

ElCrazy  
Posted : Tuesday, 2 June 2015 2:26:44 PM(UTC)
ElCrazy

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 9 post(s)
Just been doing this since Christmas, so complete newbie still. As I live in NI only get to SI once a month or so too, but thought I'd post a picture of last couple days results in the ice cold. Haven't cleaned up last days sluicing but this is what ws gleaned from a gravel bank in a public fossicking area. Wouldn't have been soo bad if my gumboot wasn't leaking! If anyone knows what the white stuff is let me know its attached to gold and in its own flakes.
c4bb0ose  
Posted : Tuesday, 2 June 2015 2:51:26 PM(UTC)
c4bb0ose

Man

Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 29 post(s)
Depends were you got it from but gold can form with mercury, silver and platinum etc.
ElCrazy  
Posted : Tuesday, 2 June 2015 3:21:31 PM(UTC)
ElCrazy

New Zealand

Sweet thanks man! I'd like to think its platinum 8-) but more likely silver eh.
The Hatter  
Posted : Tuesday, 2 June 2015 8:22:56 PM(UTC)
The Hatter

New Zealand

Was thanked: 320 time(s) in 125 post(s)
Hi Elcrazy

Definitely mercury plated gold flakes

Cheers Trev aka " The Hatter"
goldsborough  
Posted : Wednesday, 3 June 2015 12:14:01 PM(UTC)
goldsborough

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

New Zealand

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 10 post(s)
Awesome result for a weekends effort. We haven't found that much in four trips to the South. One day....
x-terra steve  
Posted : Wednesday, 3 June 2015 12:45:30 PM(UTC)
x-terra steve

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Man

Was thanked: 69 time(s) in 42 post(s)
Cheers for the post Elcrazy,