New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

tanb  
Posted : Friday, 31 July 2015 5:17:15 PM(UTC)
tanb

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here.
I was just wondering if any of you meet up and go out and about treasure hunting.
I'm in Queenstown and would love to have someone to go out hunting with.
Is there any type of meetings held anywhere?
Anyway just thought it'd be nice to meet some like minded peeps.
I don't know of anyone else here in Queenstown with a metal detector.

I'm also wondering if Palmerston is a good lace to go detecting?

Thanks guys :)
simon  
Posted : Friday, 31 July 2015 11:29:04 PM(UTC)
simon

Man

Was thanked: 239 time(s) in 150 post(s)
hey there. theres quite a concentration of detectorists here in queenstown.

what type of treasure hunting are you referring to? everyone i know is after gold thus have detectors suited to finding gold.

there are plenty of historic sites for sure here but a lot have been redeveloped and built over. and the number of people don't make a sly dig somewhere public to attractive.

what detector do you have?

detecting is a bit of a individual thing with the headphones on and all. a lot of guys do it alone as they don't want to share their spots and can be secretive with finds. personally i have gone detecting with others. usually its good to share the travel costs and it adds a bit of safety if its somewhere remote but typically you end up wandering off in different directions which can make meeting up at the end of it a challenge sometimes.

as far as meetings go I'm sure we're all too keen to put in time detecting to waste it on meetings.

i'm keen to head out somewhere at some point for a detect. there are some common spots where many of us go every now and then that always turn up some scrap of gold if you look hard enough.