New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

gohard  
Posted : Thursday, 8 September 2011 8:25:28 PM(UTC)
gohard

Groups: Registered
Man

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Does anyone know the right angle to set your ripple strips at......
Just watched the full series of Gold rush Alaska....so interesting
zimbo  
Posted : Thursday, 8 September 2011 8:57:26 PM(UTC)
zimbo

Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 18 post(s)
kiwikeith  
Posted : Thursday, 8 September 2011 9:21:30 PM(UTC)
kiwikeith

Medals: Outstanding Contribution: Helped organise get together for Paydirt members and volunteered gold claim for the event (Oct 2013)

Was thanked: 230 time(s) in 154 post(s)
hi gohard
ive been making slice boxes for a good 40 years all different but my latest one seems to have worked the best
if you study the flows of river and water you will note that one needs to vary the flow to stop the gold falling over the riffles
if all riffles are the same them gold will move over each in turn if one changes slope and angles heights and shapes then the water will take on different charatoristics you also have to take into account the area working because different gold will sink or flow differently according to sise and weight

summary there is no hard and fast rules as far as im concerned
i have 12 riffles in the top half of my box and they are all diferent
gohard  
Posted : Thursday, 8 September 2011 10:09:01 PM(UTC)
gohard

Man

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Thanks guys clear as mud now lol :(
Lammerlaw  
Posted : Thursday, 8 September 2011 10:45:47 PM(UTC)
Lammerlaw

Was thanked: 579 time(s) in 396 post(s)