New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

big miner  
Posted : Monday, 8 April 2013 8:40:10 PM(UTC)
big miner

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi i am fairly new to gold fossicking and have been looking at sluice boxes. I take it that the longer the sluice box the more material it will be capable of processing and therefore catch more gold potentially. Am i correct in saying this any advice would be appreciated.
zimbo  
Posted : Tuesday, 9 April 2013 6:42:50 PM(UTC)
zimbo

Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 18 post(s)
hello mate i would go with the keene A52 its a well made box and not to heavy too
big miner  
Posted : Tuesday, 9 April 2013 6:57:50 PM(UTC)
big miner

Hi yes that was one that i have been looking at. Think i will go with that model. Do you classify your material before running it through.
zimbo  
Posted : Tuesday, 9 April 2013 7:12:12 PM(UTC)
zimbo

Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 18 post(s)
i only classify if there is not much water flow
baronvonoil  
Posted : Monday, 1 July 2013 10:18:00 AM(UTC)
baronvonoil

Man
New Zealand

any sluice box will do as long as theres gold where u r looking,moonlight is gd
simon  
Posted : Monday, 1 July 2013 10:36:05 AM(UTC)
simon

Man

Was thanked: 239 time(s) in 150 post(s)
Big Miner:

You've got a few options. As Zimbo has pointer out you can't go wrong with a Keene A52. Built to last, a good length, has hungarian riffles, a flare that can detach, and all the usual miners moss and v ribbed black matting. Keene also produce a smaller A51 model is the A52 is too big. check them out online.