New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

DiggerJas  
Posted : Saturday, 19 October 2013 9:32:32 PM(UTC)
DiggerJas

Groups: Registered
Man

Hi everyone,
I am new to the Paydirt forum so thought would be good to start off with a brief post to intro myself. I'm a keen hunter/fisherman and diver and have always had an interest in rocks, minerals, and collecting from my Lincoln days and before on the farm where we had old bottles and stuff galore in our riverbed block as a result of historic rubbish dump which used to be upstream.
I have just really got the bug this year and outfitted myself with some pans, sluice box (thanks Daniel G.), a Gold Bug 2 (Thanks Chris at Puiaki, great service!), picked up a cheap 2' dredge outfit which have had a couple of plays with, and recently interested also in general detecting and managed to buy a 2nd hand AT Pro cheap so just learning to use it. I intend to visit the CMD Club as would be great to meet some other crazy guys / lasses for some shared detecting and gold fossicking trips or evenings. I would welcome any posts, and look forward to watching the forum and getting to know members and learning from them. Over and out, DiggerJas
SDC2300, Garret AT Pro, Garret Pro-pointer, 4" Keene, hand sluice box, and plenty of optimism!
chrischch  
Posted : Saturday, 19 October 2013 9:38:15 PM(UTC)
chrischch

Was thanked: 105 time(s) in 104 post(s)
You sure got the gear to try all the diff routes to gold! You could come to the Reefton get together on labour weekend. Have you had much luck so far? I try to get into gold country as often as possible but satisfy myself with a bit of coin detecting around the place in the between times.
Welcome to the forum and theres plenty of us here in Chch.
Fisher Goldbug Pro, Fisher F2, Garrett Propointer.
DiggerJas