New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

Ronnie  
Posted : Wednesday, 6 May 2015 6:07:50 PM(UTC)
Ronnie

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Hi everyone

Some you may have seen one of my previous posts to this forum website. I am a rookie to metal detecting, and have been trying to get it all sussed out to be able to use one for an experiment in a few weeks time. I am borrowing a metal detector from someone and have been hoping to trial using it to detect some nuts (ie nuts and bolts) in the ground. I have been doing a few preliminary trials by detecting the nuts while they are sitting on the soil surface, before going onto trials where I will bury them (I was told it should make no difference if the nuts are buried or not). I having problems with detecting the nuts with the coil at anything more than about 15 cm above them, yet I have been advised that I should be able to detect them at around 30 cm depth.

I was wondering if anyone around Christchurch would be willing to meet up with me and show me if there is anything that I might be doing wrong, and/or trial with their own detector how deep they can detect the nuts that I am looking at using, so I know if the machine that I am using is faulty.

Cheers!

Edited by user Wednesday, 6 May 2015 6:08:41 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

The Hatter  
Posted : Wednesday, 6 May 2015 7:56:24 PM(UTC)
The Hatter

New Zealand

Was thanked: 320 time(s) in 125 post(s)
Well Ronnie

It might help if you tell the guys what Detector you are actually using.

Cheers Trev aka " The Hatter"
Ronnie  
Posted : Wednesday, 6 May 2015 9:24:35 PM(UTC)
Ronnie

New Zealand

Hi Trev

Thanks for pointing that out!

I am using a 'Garrett AT Pro'
shaneE  
Posted : Friday, 8 May 2015 11:59:50 AM(UTC)
shaneE

Man
New Zealand

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)