New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

nzpoohbear40  
Posted : Thursday, 25 August 2011 12:48:19 PM(UTC)
nzpoohbear40

Groups: Registered
Man
New Zealand

Was thanked: 384 time(s) in 329 post(s)
Hi guys..i am wonder what is the best setting for finding gold and silver rings weather it be in a park or on the beach.
I have heard or read that all metal and dig everything is the answer but i would like
a few comments and views from the ones that know better than me as i am new at it.

i have a Fisher gold bug if that helps...with the 11 inch dd and the 5 inch coils
i normally use the 11DD when hunting parks and beaches.

Cheers
Chris
Chris - Fisher Dealer http://www.puiakisupply.co.nz/
creamer  
Posted : Thursday, 25 August 2011 1:41:32 PM(UTC)
creamer

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Man

Was thanked: 525 time(s) in 391 post(s)
I hunt in all metal mode. Then decide wether to dig it or not. Usually on the beach i dig everything. I said no dig to one beep cos there were multiple targets in one junk spot and i decided to clean it out in the end. Found a massive mens 925 ring. Wo, really, it was my other halfs idea to dig there. Nice one. You dont want to miss the big one on the beach just cos it came up iron. It may be real deep..get closer and the scale goes up sometimes to silverish. Who knows.. In parks and stuff i dont usually dig iron. Anyhow you wouldnt want to miss these..

Shane
UserPostedImage
Garrett Ace 350
Xpointer

www.nzfossickers.co.nz
creamer  
Posted : Thursday, 25 August 2011 1:44:00 PM(UTC)
creamer

Medals: Donation: Made a donation helping cover the running costs of the site - thank you :)

Man

Or these, Found in playgrounds.
Shane
UserPostedImage
Garrett Ace 350
Xpointer

www.nzfossickers.co.nz
creamer