New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

2 Pages12>
dudlite  
Posted : Saturday, 3 March 2012 9:02:15 PM(UTC)
dudlite

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hello everyone.

I'm new to metal detecting and need some advice on spots. I am using a fisher f2 detector and so far have found mostly junk. I live in hamilton and have tried detecting around some parks but since i don't have a pinpointer i seem to make a big hole before i find anything so am thinking about going to the beach. Any advice would be great.
Lammerlaw  
Posted : Saturday, 3 March 2012 9:13:08 PM(UTC)
Lammerlaw

Was thanked: 579 time(s) in 396 post(s)
Originally Posted by: dudlite Go to Quoted Post
Hello everyone.

I'm new to metal detecting and need some advice on spots. I am using a fisher f2 detector and so far have found mostly junk. I live in hamilton and have tried detecting around some parks but since i don't have a pinpointer i seem to make a big hole before i find anything so am thinking about going to the beach. Any advice would be great.

With all three of my metal detectors I have never seen any need whatsoever for a pin pointer as you can easily 'centre' where an object is by passing the search coil over form side to side and then from top to bottom - I never had any trouble and have never yet destroyed or marred a coin and only made neat little hole
jafa  
Posted : Saturday, 3 March 2012 9:18:02 PM(UTC)
jafa

Man

Was thanked: 23 time(s) in 19 post(s)
Maybe lammerlaw your neat little hole,s in the side of a hill somewere in the boondocks mite be big crater in someone,s back yard or park;))
dudlite  
Posted : Saturday, 3 March 2012 9:18:34 PM(UTC)
dudlite