New Zealand Gold Prospecting & Metal Detecting Forums Archive

The forum has moved to community.paydirt.co.nz, see you there!

This forum is now an archive to preserve the knowledge and finds posted here.

2 Pages12>
SusanP  
Posted : Sunday, 18 July 2010 4:22:48 PM(UTC)
SusanP

Groups: Registered
Woman

Hello there, I'm new to this gold fossicking thing, I've always wanted to spend a week on the coast panning for gold but had no idea there were public fossicking areas available. So now I've bought a pan and a sniffer and think that I'm going to make my fortune, but after reading of all the stories and all the gear I've realised I'm probably just dreaming... So it it possible to find gold just panning in a fossicking area? I'm still very keen to give it a go, I'm planning to head to Moonlight Creek when the weather is warmer, but maybe I need to be more prepared than I thought! Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, I don't want my first big gold adventure to be a big flop :)

thanks, S
gavin  
Posted : Sunday, 18 July 2010 4:36:00 PM(UTC)
gavin

Groups: Administrators, Registered

Was thanked: 535 time(s) in 287 post(s)
Hi Susan,

You'll find some for sure but it will most likely be little flakes - so don't expect to retire from it ;) If you get down to black sand in your pan then that's a good sign. At first I was chucking this away until someone pointed out that if you look carefully you'll often find a few flakes hiding under the heavy iron sand grains.

But you never know - you might get lucky and find a nugget with some beginners luck! It does happen!

I've never been to Moonlight Creek - let us know how you get on.

Best of luck - hope you find some colours,
Gavin :)
criticol  
Posted : Wednesday, 21 July 2010 12:00:30 PM(UTC)
criticol

Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 48 post(s)

Hello SusanP.

Apologies for the lack of interest in your request. (apart from Gavins)
I myself have been slightly busy on other matters, but I’ll try to offer a few tips?